The direct answer: dual voltage means a dryer can run on both 120V, used in North America, and 220–240V, used in Europe, the UK and Australia. If a listing does not state dual or universal voltage, assume the dryer is 120V only.
And the mistake this page exists to prevent: a plug adapter does not change voltage. It changes the shape of the plug. A 120V-only dryer plugged into a European 220–240V socket is damaged, sometimes immediately.
Voltage was the single most-discussed topic in our entire review dataset at 785 mentions — ahead of noise, weight and price Review analysis. It is the most common expensive mistake in this category, and it is entirely avoidable.
This page covers the mechanism. For which dryers to actually buy, see our travel hair dryer guide, which compares the dual-voltage models we track.
What does dual voltage mean on a hair dryer?
It means the appliance is designed to operate on two different mains voltages.
| Term you will see | What it means | Where we have seen it |
|---|---|---|
| Dual voltage | Runs on 120V and 220–240V | Common on travel dryers |
| Universal voltage | Same practical meaning | Dyson uses this phrasing |
| 110–240V | The stated range | Some listings |
| 120V | North America only | Most full-size dryers sold in Canada |
| “Compact” / “travel size” | Size only — says nothing about voltage | The term most often misread |
Two implementations, and the difference matters at the socket:
- Automatic switching. The dryer senses the supply and adapts. Nothing to set
- Manual selector. A switch or dial you must set to the correct voltage before plugging in. Getting this wrong on a manual unit is the same as using a single-voltage dryer
If a listing does not say dual or universal voltage, treat it as 120V only. Absence of the claim is the signal — see the checking method below.
Why a plug adapter does not change voltage
This is the core misunderstanding, so it is worth being precise about what each device does.
| Device | What it changes | What it does not change |
|---|---|---|
| Plug adapter | The shape of the connection | Voltage, frequency, current |
| Voltage converter / transformer | The voltage | The shape of the plug, on its own |
| Frequency converter | The frequency (50Hz ↔ 60Hz) | Usually sold separately, and rarely needed for dryers |
A North American plug and a European socket are physically different shapes. An adapter bridges that. It is a piece of plastic and metal with no electronics in it — there is nothing in an adapter that could change 240V into 120V.
What happens if you skip this. A 120V heating element and motor connected to 240V receive roughly twice their design voltage. The element draws far more current than designed, heats far beyond its rating, and the result is a burnt-out element, a tripped breaker, a blown thermal fuse, or in the worst case a fire. Reviewers in our dataset describe smoke in 182 mentions with 96% negative and melting plastic in 64 mentions with 89% negative — and those figures are from normal domestic use, not from voltage mismatches Review analysis.
What a voltage converter needs to handle
If you decide to use a converter rather than buying a dual-voltage dryer, the rating is the thing that decides whether it works.
Hair dryers draw high wattage. Most full-size North American dryers are 1,875W, and compact units run from around 1,200W to 1,600W. That is an unusually heavy load compared with almost anything else a traveller carries.
The sizing rule: a converter must be rated comfortably above the dryer’s draw, not equal to it. A converter run continuously at its rated maximum will overheat.
| Dryer draw | Minimum converter rating to look for |
|---|---|
| 1,200W | 1,500W or higher |
| 1,600W | 2,000W or higher |
| 1,875W | 2,500W or higher |
Why cheap travel converters fail here. The small converters sold in airport shops are typically rated 50W to 100W and are intended for phone chargers, laptops and shavers. A hair dryer will overload one immediately, and the failure mode is usually a blown fuse inside the converter — or worse, a melted housing.
The economics point in one direction. A converter capable of running a 1,875W dryer costs more than a cheap dual-voltage travel dryer. Buying the dual-voltage dryer is almost always the cheaper and safer route, and it is one fewer heavy item in the bag.
Why frequency matters as well as voltage
Voltage is only half of what differs between mains supplies.
| Region | Voltage | Frequency |
|---|---|---|
| Canada, United States | 120V | 60Hz |
| Europe, UK, Australia | 220–240V | 50Hz |
| Japan | 100V | 50Hz or 60Hz depending on region |
What frequency affects. AC motor speed is partly a function of supply frequency, so a 60Hz motor on 50Hz mains can run slower — which for a hair dryer means less airflow. Heating elements are largely frequency-independent, but the thermal cut-outs and control electronics may not be.
Why this matters for dual-voltage dryers specifically. A properly designed dual-voltage dryer is built for both voltage and frequency. A single-voltage dryer taken abroad faces a mismatch on both counts, and correcting the voltage with a transformer does not correct the frequency.
One practical consequence: a dual-voltage dryer run on 120V typically delivers less power than the same unit on 240V, because the motor and element are sized for both. Expect somewhat weaker performance at home than abroad. That is the design trade, not a fault.
Which is why some travellers keep two dryers — a full-size one at home for performance, and a cheap dual-voltage unit for trips. Our travel hair dryer guide compares those options.
Which hair dryers sold in Canada are dual voltage?
Of the models we track, only two state it.
| Model | Price (approx.) | Voltage claim | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dyson Supersonic Travel | about C$400 | Universal voltage, stated plainly | Manufacturer claim |
| Dreame Pocket Pro | about C$160 | Dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| Dyson Supersonic Nural | about C$630 | Verify on the listing | Not confirmed |
| Revlon RVDR5034F | about C$19 | We could not confirm it | Not confirmed |
| Every Laifen model (6) | about C$100–219.99 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| Every Slopehill model (3) | about C$43–99.99 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| Every Conair model (3) | about C$25–60.60 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| Wavytalk 1875W | about C$40 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| AINA Diffuser Dryer | about C$26 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
| Remington (2 models) | about C$26–28.49 | Not marketed as dual voltage | Manufacturer claim |
The pattern is worth noting: dual voltage is rare in this category and concentrated at the top of the price range. Most dryers sold in Canada are 120V only, including nearly everything under C$150.
And the specific risk we would flag: a dryer marketed as a “compact travel dryer” without a voltage claim. Compact describes size, not electricity — and we could not confirm the voltage range on the one such listing we track, the Revlon RVDR5034F at about C$19. If you buy it for travel, check the product page first.
How to check a listing for voltage
A five-step method, in order.
- Search the page for “dual voltage”, “universal voltage”, “110-240V” or “120/240V”. Use the browser’s find function. If none of those appear, assume 120V only
- Ignore “compact”, “travel size”, “folding” and “portable”. They describe dimensions and packaging
- Check the specification table, not just the description. Voltage is often listed in a spec row rather than the marketing copy
- Look at the plug type in the listing images. A North American two-prong or three-prong flat blade plug is a hint, though not conclusive on its own
- If it is a manual-selector unit, confirm the selector exists. A “dual voltage” claim on a unit with no switch and no automatic-sensing description is worth questioning
And one check for when it arrives, which matters regardless of voltage: confirm the ALCI plug has its rectangular GFCI-style box with test and reset buttons. One Canadian reviewer flagged a dryer sold on Amazon.ca as non-compliant and recalled because it lacked the mandatory ALCI plug Buyer feedback.
What happens if you get it wrong
Stated plainly, because the consequence is not subtle.
| Situation | What happens |
|---|---|
| 120V dryer on 120V mains, Canada | Normal operation |
| Dual-voltage dryer on 120V mains | Works; typically reduced power versus 240V |
| Dual-voltage dryer on 240V mains | Works at full power |
| 120V-only dryer on 240V mains | Damage, sometimes immediate. Element burnout, blown thermal fuse, smoke, or fire risk |
| 240V-only dryer on 120V mains | Underperforms or does not run; usually no damage |
| 120V dryer with only a plug adapter on 240V | Same as the 120V-on-240V row. The adapter changes nothing electrical |
The asymmetry is worth remembering. A 240V appliance on 120V mains generally just underperforms. A 120V appliance on 240V mains is likely to be destroyed. The dangerous direction is the one most North American travellers are in.
What to do if it happens. Unplug it immediately, do not attempt to use it again, and do not open the housing. Our hair dryer care guide covers the warning signs — and a persistent burning smell is the most common precursor to failure in our data, at 215 mentions with 84% negative Review analysis.
Frequently asked questions
What does dual voltage mean on a hair dryer? It means the dryer can run on both 120V, used in North America, and 220–240V, used in Europe, the UK and Australia. Some switch automatically and some have a physical selector you must set before plugging in. If a listing does not state dual or universal voltage, assume the dryer is 120V only.
Can I use a plug adapter with my Canadian hair dryer in Europe? A plug adapter only changes the shape of the plug. It does not change the voltage, so a 120V-only dryer plugged into a 220–240V socket is damaged, sometimes immediately. You need either a dual-voltage dryer or a voltage converter rated for the dryer’s wattage.
What size voltage converter do I need for a hair dryer? Hair dryers draw high wattage — often 1,600W to 1,875W — so a converter must be rated above that, not equal to it. Cheap travel converters rated at 50W or 100W are intended for phone chargers and will fail, sometimes dangerously, on a hair dryer. In practice a dual-voltage dryer is cheaper than a suitable converter.
Why does frequency matter as well as voltage? North America runs at 60Hz and most of Europe at 50Hz. A dual-voltage dryer designed for both handles this. A single-voltage dryer taken abroad faces both a voltage mismatch and a frequency mismatch, and the frequency difference can affect motor speed and heating even where voltage is somehow corrected.
Is a compact hair dryer the same as a dual voltage one? No, and this is where buyers get caught. Compact describes size and often a folding handle. Dual voltage describes electricity. A compact 120V dryer is still unusable in Europe, and several listings in our data use the two terms interchangeably without stating a voltage range.
Which hair dryers sold in Canada are dual voltage? Of the models we track, the Dreame Pocket Pro and the Dyson Supersonic Travel state dual or universal voltage. The Dyson states it plainly on the listing. Everything else we cover — every Laifen, Slopehill, Conair, wavytalk and Aina model — is not marketed as dual voltage. Our travel hair dryer guide covers the product comparison.